INGO MAURER


A german guy, 78-year-old, who artistically blossoms the  more the older he gets. I so much like the old people who are pushing the boundaries despite of their age while in the same time other older people get grounded around TV. And Mr Maurer is definitely one of the old school guys who can show that more you know more you can teach and show and not just reminisce in the senior house. He studied graphic design but somehow turned into lamp production and today you can see many beautiful features in his collection. He began to work alone in the production of lights in his cellar but by the time he hired few people and the company spread and moved out of cellar and finally today it consist of large team of designers. He definitely has a young soul, I noted, when I saw his EUROCONDOM which is a white rubber condom specially made for a bulb as a reaction on a new EU rule about restriction of white bulbs.

I´m not surprised the MoMA in New York has some of his treasure-products in its exposition. Ingo Maurer´s CV is full of awards and prizes. Good, now I feel inspired to lift my bum from a chair and create something. I hope you feel kind of like that, too.  See you tomorrow!

Ingo Maurer

A german guy, 78 year old, who artistically blossoms the  more the older he gets. I so much like the old people who are pushing the boundaries despide of their age while in the same time other older people get grounded around TV. And Mr Maurer is definitelly one of the old school guys who can show that more you know more you can teach and show and not just reminisce in the senior house. He studied graphic design but somehow turned into lamp production and today you can see many beautiful features in his collection. He definitelly has a young soul, I noted, when I saw his EUROCONDOM which is a white rubber condom specially made for a bulb as a reaction on a new EU rule about restriction of white bulbs.

I´m not surprised the MoMA in New York has some of his treasure-products in its exposition and his CV is full of awards and prizes.

2 thoughts on “INGO MAURER

  1. tanya

    Great post!
    I really enjoy visual inspiration like the one in this pieces!!
    This work remembers me the brand Delightfull, I discovered it, while I was seeing some blogs, You Will Enjoy it to!
    Delightfull is a brand taht makes the perfect mix between 40’s, 50’s and 60’s music legacy and lighting pieces!
    Visit http://www.delightfull.eu or http://www.youtube.com/DelightfullLighting and by the way visit also http://www.bocadolobo.com. They have beautiful luxury timeless pieces!
    I really enjoyed your blog.
    I’ll come back to see what you post next!

    Reply
    1. thebestof1986 Post author

      Dear Tania,

      Thank you for your links. I do like the lamps by delightfull.
      I was no lucky with opening the other link but I´m in hotel now so I will check this again when I´m
      back to my place.
      If you get any other idea to make a post or if you wish to write a guest post I will be happy to have you!

      Have a gorgeous day!

      Klara

      Reply

Leave a Reply

